LIVE from the Shamrock Motel – Episode Archive!

180278_10150097352127440_673847439_6272850_2016787_n

livefromtheshamrockmotel256 255

Never Forgive.

Never Forget.

LIVE from the Shamrock Motel – Episode Archive!

So, this was a short-lived live radio show I did over at Real Punk Radio that was

supposed to be a companion show of sorts to The South Bay PORK Podcast. I had envisioned this show to be sloppier, and a little more booze-fueled than South Bay PORK. I also wanted the opportunity to play a little more than just music that fit into the “Garage Punk” and related music genres. I didn’t really succeed, mainly because I was semi-homeless at the time, and didn’t have reliable internet. Not having the internet sure made it hard to do a live internet radio show, but I managed to get around this by tapping into un-secured wifi networks all over town. I got the stink-eye in the McDonald’s parking lot, at the local library, and idling in my 2002 Saturn in residential neighborhoods all over North San Diego County. It was weird. I think this made it a little more fun to listen too though, and my friends seem to like it. I had way more fun doing this show over the pre-recorded podcasts.

Ultimately, I didn’t have the time to do a weekly radio show anymore. Maybe one day I’ll give it another shot, but until then, here’s some listenin’ to keep yer ears busy.

Episode 1

Technical difficulties, chatroom heckling from Dirtbag Surfer, and stuff. One long pounding set of surf tunes, some one man band noise, and garage gunk [download]

Episode 2

A story about a man, who goes back to Bhutan. I tried to interview my landlord at The Shamrock Motel who was coming by to change the batteries in the smoke alarms. I haven’t listened to the episode to find out if I actually did. Headed to South America for some garage, some twisters and shouters in here too… yessuh! [download]

Episode 3

Fresh out of Wham Camp 2010, and chatroom banter that has no context! Got some psychobilly in this one, some hardcore, some songs about gorillas [download]

Episode 4

This was a fundraising episode for Real Punk Radio. I remember I was at my cramped kitchen table (at the Shamrock Motel) with a little cooler of beer. I was totally blasted the whole time, and had a lot of fun doing this show. Two hours! [download]

Episode 5

Another rad show, played all sorts of stuff on this one. Punk, psychobilly, soul, trash [download]

Episode 6

Soldier Apes on horseback! Soldier Apes on foot! [download]

Episode 7

This was supposed to be a Soul and R ‘n B episode, but it sort of trails off into madness at the end. Two hours! [download]

Episode 8

A unique, sober listening experience. This one starts out with some Wesley Willis (RIP), so you know it’s good. [download]

Episode 9

Another two-hour episode, and a glimpse into a lifestyle few can achieve. Complimentary soap and shampoo, punk jams, a lot of screaming, etc. etc. [download]

Episode 10

I guess this was supposed to be a two-hour set but I think I got too belligerent to finish it or something. Lots of frat rock, garage, punk, and silliness. [download]

Episode 11

LIVE from the Escondido McDonalds! This episode was recorded on Ronald’s WiFi – it was a total mess. I was on a steady-stream of Diet Coke, and screaming like a lunatic for a hour. [download]

Episode 12

I had to record this episode from my in-law’s house, so it was all hush hush, on the down-low, ya dig? Another two hour episode with a visit from the Japanese Sandman! [download]

Episode 13

The Halloween episode! Two hours of spooky ghoulish and incredibly cheesy tunes to play at your Halloween party. It’s basically what I listen to year-round. [download]

Episode 14

I somehow managed to mix a track from The Homosexuals and a murder ballad from The Everly Brothers into the same show… [download]

Episode 15

I think this episode was recorded in my car too. Nice mix of stuff in this episode, including some hotline voicemail messages, and ska. [download]

Episode 16

I tried to connect to the McDonald’s WiFi unsuccessfully, but ended up parked outside someone’s house. I remember the condensation getting really bad to the point that it was dripping off the windshield. Gross! [download]

Episode 17

In this episode I introduced Drive-Thru Interviews!, and celebrated World AIDS Day! Listen all the way through to the end to hear me mumble shit at fast-food workers [download]

Episode 18

The Soul, Funk, and Rn’B episode! Two hours, and definitely a fan favorite for it’s overall smoooooveness, and abundance of of soulful selections. [download]

Episode 19

Imagine yourself with me, in The Shamrock Motel, in beautiful Escondido California. this episode has a bunch of secret encoded messages mixed in throughout the show for some reason. [download]

Episode 20

The last recorded episode in existence! NSFW! NSFL! XXX! Some great sound clips from some Triple-X 8-track tapes in the mix for this episode; EDUCATIONAL RECORDINGS! Tacos for two! Thanks to all the loyal listeners from the chat at Real Punk Radio, you know who you are! [download]

Leave a comment